2023 Faculty Promotions and Awards

Author: Kelly Dietz

The Department of Biological Sciences would like to recognize the faculty in the department who have earned a promotion this year as a result of their outstanding teaching, research, and service.


Patricia Vaughan has been promoted to Associate Professor of the Practice

Kristin Lewis has been promoted to Teaching Professor

Felipe Santiago-Tirado has been reappointed as Assistant Professor


Additionally, there are several faculty in the department who are recipients of awards for their outstanding teaching and research at the department, college, and university level. Congratulations on your achievements!


Department of Biological Sciences Research Award

Xin Lu, John M. and Mary Jo Boler Associate Professor


Department of Biological Sciences Teaching Award

Stuart Jones, Professor


College of Science Research Award

Elizabeth Archie, Professor


The Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Crislyn D’Souza-Schorey, Morris Pollard Professor

David Veselik, Teaching Professor and Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Advising

Rebecca Wingert, Elizabeth and Michael Gallagher Associate Professor