Crislyn D’Souza-Schorey

Crislyn D’Souza-Schorey is the chair of the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Notre Dame. In this role, she works collaboratively with the College of Science and provides overall strategic direction and leadership for the department and oversight of its research, teaching and outreach endeavors. She is also the Morris Pollard Collegiate Professor of Biological Sciences.

A highly visible scientist, her work has been published in leading scientific journals and supported by several funding agencies including the American Cancer Society, the Department of Defense, the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of America, and the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health. Often called upon to speak at national and international meetings, she has been recognized with a host of awards and honors throughout her career, including the Michael K. Guest Award for Innovative Cancer Research from the Walther Cancer Institute. She was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2012. D’Souza-Schorey has served as a standing roster member and continues to serve on scientific review panels of the National Institutes of Health and those of other national and international funding agencies. She also serves on editorial boards and frequently reviews for scientific journals.

A major line of investigation in D’Souza-Schorey’s research laboratory is to understand the cellular basis of tumor metastases. The acquisition of the invasive phenotype—when cells acquire the ability to break away from the primary tumor and invade the surrounding tissue—has been the focal point of the laboratory’s research. Known for her work on the ARF6 protein, which is deregulated in cancers, her laboratory continues to study early changes in tumor cells that facilitate disease progression.

D’Souza-Schorey joined the Notre Dame faculty in 1998 as the Walther Assistant Professor. At Notre Dame, she has served in several capacities including service on the Provost’s Advisory Committee, the Dean’s Advisory Committee, College Council, Graduate Council, the Academic and Faculty Affairs Committee of the University’s Board of Trustees, several steering committees and faculty search committees, and the department’s Committee for Appointments and Promotions, which she currently chairs. An enthusiastic educator, she teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in Cell Biology and Cancer Biology and is dedicated to student mentoring and training.

Prior to joining the faculty at Notre Dame, she earned her Ph.D. at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, following which she was the Lucille P. Markey postdoctoral fellow and then Research Assistant Professor in the department of Cell Biology at Washington University School of Medicine in St Louis.