Lu Receives Society for Basic Urologic Research Young Investigator Award

Author: Aviva Wulfsohn

Xin Lu Photo 2021

Dr. Xin Lu, the John M. and Mary Jo Bohler Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences was one of two scientists nationwide to receive the 2021 Young Investigator Award from the Society for Basic Urologic Research (SBUR). SBUR, the pre-eminent US-based urologic research society founded in 1986, annually recognizes young investigators who are under the age of 45, within 5 years of their first faculty position and have made significant contributions to urologic research. Dr. Lu presented an acceptance speech and research seminar entitled "Prostate cancer and penile cancer: Similarity in immunosuppression…

Read More

Local ND Student Featured on WTHR

Author: Notre Dame Club of Indianapolis

Kyle Mcavoy

One of our local ND students, Kyle McAvoy, was featured on WTHR last week! Kyle is a rising junior who has spent his summer preparing the Gennesaret Free Clinic's mobile clinic to serve the homeless of Indianapolis as part of the University's Summer Service Learning Program. The mobile clinic was forced to take a year off last year due to the pandemic, but will be providing free, patient-centered health care to a population that is often difficult to reach.…

Read More

Our genes shape our gut bacteria, new research shows

Author: Deanna Csomo McCool

Play July2015 1 Feature

In the study, published recently in Science, researchers discovered that most bacteria in the gut microbiome are heritable after looking at more than 16,000 gut microbiome profiles collected over 14 years from a long-studied population of baboons in Kenya’s Amboseli National Park.

Read More

The Notre Dame Institute for Advanced Study announces 2021-2022 Undergraduate Research Fellowship class

Author: Kristian Olsen

Ndias 21 22 Undergradfellows Social Red Size

The Notre Dame Institute for Advanced Study (NDIAS) has selected 16 Notre Dame students for its 2021-2022 Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program. The students were chosen through a competitive application process and were selected on the basis of their research experience, collaborative potential, and interdisciplinary commitment.…

Read More

Is targeting human cells, rather than the virus itself, key to preventing the next pandemic?

Author: Deanna Csomo McCool

Tw 1200x675 Siwo

Geoffrey Siwo, research assistant professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Notre Dame, realized there may be a way to develop therapies for new viruses. Rather than target a virus, he is looking at methods to stimulate the natural antiviral defense systems present in all cells and that can work broadly against a wide variety of viruses … known, unknown, and mutant.

Read More